Facts and Statistics

The Northwestern Minnesota Synod (NWMN) is Region 3D synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (ELCA) and includes 21 counties in the northwest corner of the state.

As of April 2016 the Northwestern Minnesota Synod had:

For in-depth information on the NWMN Synod, see the Synod Statistics Toolkit webpage and Bishop Election Toolkit on the ELCA website.


The 2015 Synod Assembly passed a resolution revising the 10-conference structure into a new structure with 24 clusters of geographically-close congregations and ministry agencies, eight conferences, and an open-ended number of networks defined by common interests and affinities.

Conferences (Beginning in February 2016):

  1. Roseau
  2. Thief River Falls
  3. Crooks ton
  4. Bemidji
  5. Moorhead
  6. Detroit Lakes
  7. Fergus Falls
  8. Alexandria

Download: NWMN Synod Conference Map


Partner Synod

New Jersey Synod

ELCA International Companion Synod

Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC) of India